Chapter 7 Bankruptcy

Chapter 7 Bankruptcy is commonly referred to as “liquidation bankruptcy.” When an individual proceeds under Chapter 7, a trustee is appointed by the bankruptcy court. The trustee then gathers all of the individual’s property (except any property that is exempt), sells (“liquidates”) it, and distributes the proceeds of the sale to the individual’s creditors. At the end of this process, any outstanding debts are discharged (eliminated). If proceeds from the liquidation sale do not cover all of the individual’s debts, the creditors then chalk-up any losses and move on, while the individual starts anew with very little assets leftover. The Chapter 7 process generally takes about four to six months.

Not everyone is allowed to proceed under Chapter 7, however. To be eligible under Chapter 7, an individual must pass the “means test” (a mechanical formula that is used to determine who can and cannot repay some debt.) If the court determines that the individual’s “current monthly income” is above a certain amount and the individual has the ability to repay some debt, the individual may be denied Chapter 7 relief and may be required to proceed under Chapter 13.

Common Bankruptcy Chapters

Please click on each link below to read about each bankruptcy chapter in further detail.
  Chapter 7 Bankruptcy 
  Chapter 13 Bankruptcy 
  Chapter 11 Bankruptcy